Just call me The Godmother

Today, I was truly privileged and I became a Godparent. This is pretty spectacular. In my opinion, obviously it is, but I am feeling very honoured. 

In our Sunday best!

Choosing Jenson and Emeline’s Godparents was easy. We knew it had to be people we loved and trusted and who we knew my children could look up and that their Godparents would protect them and love them regardless. For me, I now fit in to that box. Someone loves me and trust me enough to have the role of Godparent for their child. This may not necessarily be the case but I made the cut.

The role of Godparent was made even more special by the fact it was my best friend’s son and that Mr T is my first Godson. Naturally, I am already trying to make the world a better place for my children and new Godchild ;). Mr T’s Mummy is both Jenson and Emeline’s Godmummy too so I now feel they are God cousins. I do love my over excited brain!

I also shared the role today with my brother in law (my sister’s husband). It was down to Dan and I that Abbi and Si are together after numerous attempts to set them up! They finally got together and eventually realised that Dan and I were always right! Now look at them. Pats self on back!

The day was really lovely. A lovely service held at Bocking Church. Our Father Rod is hilarious! We then went on for a little party at a local football club and had the most delicious miniature versions of food and the most amount of cake. Food heaven. Abbi’s Mum is one of the best bakers around and makes delicious cakes, thankfully her talents have filled out to her daughters and there was brownies, flapjack, lemon drizzle and numerous other beautiful combinations. Scott is currently in a cake coma on the sofa! 

Another benefit is that apparently my sins are repented! So I have this wonderful clean slate of goodness! Not that I haven’t ever been but that’s beside the point. Quite possibly yesterday, I should have let my hair done and gone a little crazy for today’s ceremony! 

So now I am all clean and wonderfully good and some kind of Saint, I am on cloud 9 with my new role as Godmother and I want to prove I’ll be a good one! Listening to Father Rod’s sermon earlier was about someone always working the hardest and another person taking a back seat, so I decided to act on my new role and put the washing away. I also collected the rubbish earlier and handed out plates of crisps. Whoop!

First act (not bad for the first day) as responsible Godparent. Complete

Leave a Reply

