It’s hard not being the favourite 

I have had a Mummy’s boy, I experienced first hand being the ‘favourite’. Jenson has always come to me when he needs something, especially cuddles. He is a typical Mummy’s boy and I have loved it. When I returned to work and Scott looked after him, I remained a firm favourite. Even now, Jenson and Scott bicker and it’s always me that solves their problems, it’s like having two children. 

Jenson has loved me being on maternity leave and me returning to work has been particularly difficult for him. He squeals and comes running when I come home. By Jenson starting school, he isn’t missing me as much, as he is out of the house but he just wants me around. I love that I’ll always get his holidays with him.

Emeline has passed her attachment phase and mummy obsession that every baby goes through.  She is still always so happy to see me but she ‘plays’. Emeline is the ultimate Daddy’s girl. She will always chose to go to him, unless she wants milk. She finds him the funniest and always wants to make him laugh, Scott was the first one to get her kisses when she learnt to do them. 

Since I returned to work, their bond is even stronger. Scott is looking after Emeline and my days, don’t they love it. She has him eating out the palm of her hand, he even finds her removing her sun hat in this ridiculously warm English weather hilarious… That’s not cute! They have been for lunch and played all day, in a few weeks they start a baby group together too at Tumble Tots. 

I don’t even mind that Scott and Emeline have the most amazing bond but I want to be her favourite, I know he adores her so much and more than he does me but I’ve been her sole carer for almost 9 months and carried her for 41 weeks. I should be her favourite. Her reaction when I come home is amazing, she is so happy to see me and then within 20 seconds she wants Scott again. It’ll go in a full circle, she’ll come back to me and I’ll be the favourite again! 

I know when she is older and she wants some beautiful shoes or a spa day, it’ll be me she comes to, so he can have this part of her life. Likewise, I’ll forever try to keep Jenson close and protect him and no doubt Scott will be encouraging him to play sport. Parenting works in mysterious ways! 

Leave a comment